

P.O. Box 249, 217 Railway Avenue North, Morrin, AB T0J 2B0 Tel: 403-772-3793 | Fax: 403-772-3807 www.starlandcounty.com

July 26, 2023

Honourable RJ Sigurdson Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation 131 Legislature Building 10800 – 97 Avenue Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2B6

AGRIC.Minister@gov.ab.ca

Re: Local State of Agricultural Disaster

Dear Minister Sigurdson,

This letter is to officially inform you that at the July 26, 2023, Council meeting, Starland County passed a motion declaring a local state of agricultural disaster.

Low soil moisture levels, significantly low growing season precipitation levels, and periods of extreme heat during critical periods have combined to create widespread poor growing conditions throughout Starland County.

The drought conditions facing agricultural producers in the area are severe. Surface water sources and dugouts have dried up, having been initially low due to lack of snowfall accumulation over winter followed by minimal spring rainfall for runoff. Pasture and tame hay crops are poor, in many cases hay crops will not be harvested this year. In many areas of the county, native grasses are still partially dormant as there has been limited rainfall to initiate growth.

Due to the situation facing producers, the County is respectfully requesting the opportunity to participate in the implementation of a provincial disaster recovery plan. This council recognizes and appreciates the recent actions that have been taken, including raising the low yield allowance to increase the amount of crop available for livestock feed.

Sincerely,

Steve Wannstrom

Reeve

Starland County



P.O. Box 249, 217 Railway Avenue North, Morrin, AB T0J 2B0 Tel: 403-772-3793 | Fax: 403-772-3807 www.starlandcounty.com

CC:

Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Hon. Ric McIver, Alberta Minister of Municipal Affairs

Mr. Nate Horner, Minister of Finance and MLA for Battel River-Crowfoot

Mr. Damien Kurek, MP, Battle River-Crowfoot

Mr. Paul McLauchlin, RMA, President

Ms. Linda Hunt, Executive Assistant, Provincial Agricultural Service Board Committee

Ms. Kelly Smith, AFSC Board Chair